The Singtel Surprise

It’s the 2nd bill I’ve been receiving from Singtel, and it keeps giving me surprises. I signed up for the iFlexi Lite plan for the iPhone 4S and received S$69 for my latest bill.

My plan was just $39. So why did I get charged so high?

My data usage was 14.054GB, which I already knew. I thought Singtel was going to charge me excess of 2.045GB, which amounts to $5plus.

Or so I thought.

But I guess my math was really bad. I mistook 1GB for 1MB.

1GB = 1024MB = 1024KB.

And Singtel’s excess data charges are $0.0054 / 2KB. While it looks very little at first glance, don’t be fooled. You’ve gotta multiply that number by 500,000 times to get 1GB worth of charges, which is a WHOPPING $2,700!!

Thankfully, the excess is capped at 30 dollars, which is around 11MB (read: megabyte) of excess data. In other words, after you reach the limit of 12GB, every 1MB of data is $2.70!! And by the time that Youtube video is played, more than 11MB would certainly have been consumed. And there goes another 30dollars.

So, please be careful. 12GB is very hard to over consume, but if you’re constantly tethering your 3G to your laptop, be forewarned.

SOLUTION:

Just be careful. Dial *72266 to check. It’s way more accurate than the built in iPhone cellular data counter, or the MySingtel App. I would think it’s best to hover around 11.9GB MAX. Just in case, because after 12GB it’s all the WAAAAAYYY up, like a bad rollar coaster ride.

P.S. On hindsight, Singtel really knows how to market this. The S$o.0054/2KB really makes it look like (and difficult to estimate) small change. If I put it like 1MB = $2.70, that would be much more helpful (but of course it runs counter to their advertising strategy since *that* would be much, much scarier).

About jiromaiya

Largely popular with a few exceptions, he doesn't love the whole world, and doesn't try to either. A typical Singaporean epicurean, he enjoy

12 responses to “The Singtel Surprise

  1. Omg

    Hi, you exceeded 2GB and only got charged $30 right? I heard that after you reached their cap of $30, you can cotntinue using it unlimited for the month, do you know if it’s true? I’ve exceeded by 1.7 GB and I’m worried my bill will come up to thousands 😦

    • jiromaiya

      Hi, it’s capped at 30.

      • HELP ME PLEASE

        Hi, I just want to reassure myself, now my 3G data plan is 12GB/month under Singtel, and the contract was signed before Singtel had the 4G plans. I have exceeded my plan by 3.6GB(according to the *72266), which is 15.61GB :0, However I just have to pay an extra of $30 is it? Please help me thx!

      • jiromaiya

        Hi there, for this I am not too sure. Why don’t you walk into the Hello shop and enquire? 🙂 All the best.

  2. Hi , so does that mean even if I exceed by 1gb it’s still 30$ instead of 2.70$ x 1000?

  3. g2-79f038f0077bcd7c116a42f6dc8fe109

    You can check your data usage using this app called “Mobu”. You can find it in the AppStore using keyword like “Singtel usage”

  4. This is the approaching Fallout 4 Beta Keys. With this Fallout 4 Generator
    you will be capable to produce beta keys to use
    on your Xbox 360|Ps3 |or even Laptop. Giving you possibility
    to enter the globe of the new redesigned Fallout 4 :
    Overlooked Order in a beta period. We are a big gaming neighborhood with plenty of keys on every platform.
    Our keys are coming from different developers such as Obsidian Leisure who
    them selves require beta testers for this match
    prior to release date. Each beta keys coming from
    our Fallout 4 Beta Keys Generator will be
    generated from our database and locate the unused valid keys and provide
    them to you in a solitary click on. Each keys.
    As we can continuously get beta keys and feed our database our purposes are
    often up-to date.

  5. If you are going for most excellent contents like myself, just visit this web page
    every day as it presents feature contents, thanks

  6. Excellent post. I’m going through a few of these issues as well..

  7. Carmen

    Hi I’ve exceeded my data by 4.24gb. How will SingTel charge it? I have 12gb for my current mobile plan too.

Leave a Reply

這就是我 me

日曆上的日記 archives

December 2011
S M T W T F S
« Nov   Jan »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 20 other followers

回憶錄 memory lane

分割別類 categories

